Home > Playwright Posts > The best thing about writing a one minute play is that you don’t have time to be boring.

The best thing about writing a one minute play is that you don’t have time to be boring.

Joshua Conkel

The best thing about writing a one minute play is that you don’t have time to be boring. At least, that’s my hope.

Lots of plays are boring. They’re mostly about rich, white folks. They’re mostly about rich, white, straight folks in their living rooms complaining that they’re bored or they have too much education or some such. (That’s why I always try to include graphic violence or subversive sex scenes in my plays. I’m an entertainer, damn it!)

Anyway. When I saw the list of writers and directors for this year’s One-Minute Play Festival I nearly plotzed. This is a good, good list. It made me sweat having taken the assignment so casually. I thought for sure I could write eleventy one-minute plays before breakfast, but it turns out it’s harder than I thought. In the end I could only write one.

My play is called Power Lunch. It revolves around two sad sack secretaries, Bev and Deb, whose lot in life turns literal. It’s inspired by so many things I love:

  1. Women who wear white sneakers and then change into pumps when they get to the office. I don’t know why I’m obsessed with these women, but I am. If you live in New York you know that these women also carry three bags; a purse, a slightly larger purse, and a giant tote bag with a bank logo on it. These are necessary items, as our white shoe warriors use them to knock you out of the way so they can get to a seat on the subway. Glamour!
  2. Cathy comics. When Cathy Guisewite, the creator of Cathy, announced she was ending her comic strip this year I nearly committed suicide. A world without Cathy is too ugly to live in. As a gay little boy in the 80’s who was quite close to his mother (aren’t they all?) I spent a lot of time with Cathy. I tried to convince my partner to let us have a Cathy themed room in our apartment with blown up cells from her comics mounted and framed. He said “no,” which wasn’t a surprise. He wouldn’t let me have a Native American themed dining room either. Ack! I miss Cathy already!
  3. Hideous, hideous income disparity. Not that a want to get too political here, but um… I’m not a fan of the gap between those at the top and those at the bottom being the largest it has ever been in our country’s history. Like, I hear the middle class is disappearing or something? No biggie!  Let’s all eat cake. Can we afford cake? Anyway, I wrote a one-minute play about it.

I really like my play. I hope you will too. If not, that’s cool. It’ll be over in a minute!

JOSHUA CONKEL- Power Lunch

80+ plays. 30+ actors. 7 directors. 1-minute.

Saturday, Sept. 25th & Sunday, Sept. 26th at 8pm

Buy your tickets here: http://bit.ly/1-minute-tix

Categories: Playwright Posts
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

