Home > Playwright Posts > ELEVATOR PITCH

ELEVATOR PITCH

James Carter

The other night, I was telling someone about the one minute play festival, and they asked what my play is about.  I quickly rattled on about it, and before I knew it, I’d told my friend the entire story.  It made me ask: how the hell do I pitch a play that lasts longer than your typical elevator ride?

For over seven years now, I’ve produced and written plays in New York City.  Over those years, I’ve written a lot of blurbs.  They’re not easy.  These 100 word compartments of description and enticement are art forms, themselves.  Some people are really good at dreaming them up, and some blurbs make you want to stay away from the play rather than see it.  For what it’s worth, I decided I should take a stab at blurbs.  I’m sending out an email blast about the festival today, and those close to me might actually come if I can draw them in with something fun and cool.

So, here’s what my two plays are all about:

ANIMAL RIGHTS
Two buddies debate the rights of animals in a zoo.  It’s all fairly civil, until they really show their teeth.

WORK
A man and a woman share a morning moment on a subway platform at rush hour, revealing the grind begins before 9am.

The deal with these plays, of course, isn’t that most people aren’t attending to come to see my one-minute masterpiece.  It’s an evening that puts playwrights who might never work together all on one stage.  It’s an experiment in form.  It’s another reason to get drunk and have fun with friends.  It’s community.  When Dominic asked me to be a part of the evening, I said yes for all those reasons.  It wasn’t about writing a play that would blow people away; it was about having fun, being with friends, and hopefully making new ones.  Perhaps it’s a little cheesy, but I think that’s what theatre should be about: bringing people together.

Come on through this weekend, have some fun and get drunk (or whatever it is you do…).

-James Carter

80+ plays. 30+ actors. 7 directors. 1-minute.

The 4th Annual NY One Minute Play Festival

Saturday, Sept. 25th & Sunday, Sept. 26th at 8pm

At Astoria Performing Arts Center

Buy your tickets here: http://bit.ly/1-minute-tix

Categories: Playwright Posts
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

