Home > Playwright Posts > ….Rape?

….Rape?

Bekah Brunstetter

When Dominic asked me to write a one minute play, my first reaction was ‘yes.’ My second reaction was ‘absolutely, and wait, could I do like, seven?’ I love playwriting challenges. They remind of homework, specifically delightfully blank worksheets that you get to fill out, which I always loved.

Playwriting wise, I also love playing devil’s advocate, and getting inside of predictable situations, turning them on their heads. For a while, I’d been interested in writing about a girl who claims a guy raped her, to spite him. I know. I know.  Ick, Bekah, A bit controversial. Just a bit dark. I kept avoiding this impulse, because really, who wants to sit through an hour plus play about rape? So it seemed like the perfect thing to try and capture in a one minute play, as other playwrights have shrewdly pointed out: if the play is difficult / bad, s’okay you guys! It’s almost over!

Really though, I really enjoyed the challenge the one minute play presents – to me, it requires you to isolate a single moment. It forces you to be clear and specific, which hopefully I did.  Currently, I’m just building material for the nanosecond play festival.

Okay, I just wrote 30.

-Bekah Brunstetter

80+ plays. 30+ actors. 7 directors. 1-minute.

The 4th Annual NY One Minute Play Festival

Saturday, Sept. 25th & Sunday, Sept. 26th at 8pm

At Astoria Performing Arts Center

Buy your tickets here: http://bit.ly/1-minute-tix


Categories: Playwright Posts
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

