Home > One-Min Play Info > Announcing the 2nd Annual San Francisco One-Minute Play Festival

Announcing the 2nd Annual San Francisco One-Minute Play Festival

Announcing The 2nd Annual San Francisco One-Minute Play Festival

In partnership with The Playwrights Foundation

Saturday, December 17th @ 8pm

Sunday, December 18th @2pm and 7pm

At Thick House
1695 18th Street, San Francisco, 94107

Tickets are $20 and available here.

Featuring 70+ brand new one-minute plays written specifically for this festival by:

Trevor Allen, Crish Barth, Tim Bauer, Erin M. Bregman, Eugenie Chan, Christopher Chen, Anthony Clarvoe, Megan Cohen, Dominic D’Andrea, Bennett Fisher, Elizabeth Gjelten, Garret Jon Groenveld, Lauren Gunderson, Daniel Heath, Elizabeth Hersh, Joan Holden, Robert Henry Johnson, Aaron Loeb, Jonathan Luskin, Patricia Milton, Marisela Treviño Orta, Evelyn Jean Pine, Kenn Rabin, Geetha Reddy, Kate E. Ryan, Andrew Saito, Steven M. Salzman, Marissa Skudlarek, Michael Gene Sullivan, Tom Swift, Brian Thorstenson, Steve Yockey & Ignacio Zulueta


Directed by:

Jessica Heidt, Wai-Keung Lowe, Jill MacLean, Evren Odcikin, Ben Randle, & Christine Young

Curated by OMPF’s Dominic D’Andrea

The One-Minute Play Festival (OMPF) is an NYC-based theatre company, founded by director/dramaturg Dominic D’Andrea, working in partnership with institutional theatres and collectives across the country who share playwright or community-specific missions. OMPF creates local playwright-focused community events, using a specific playmaking process, with the goal of promoting the spirit of radical inclusion by representing the culture of playwrights of different age, gender, race culture, and points of career. OMPF attempts to reflect the theatrical landscape of local artistic communities by creating a dialogue between the collective conscious and the individual voice.


This season, the One-Minute Play Festival will be partnering with theatres in New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, New Brunswick, Boston, South Florida, Chicago, Baltimore/Washington DC, and others with organizations like Primary Stages, Cornerstone Theater Company, The Playwrights Foundation, Victory Gardens, Actors Express, Boston Playwrights’ Theatre and other vital national theatre companies.


Notable OMPF Alumni include: David Henry Hwang, Neil LaBute, Tina Howe, Rajiv Joseph, Kristoffer Diaz, Lisa Loomer, Donald Margulies, Jason Grote, Mike Daisey, Erik Ehn, Michael John Garces, Rachel Axler, Elizabeth Meriwether, Migdalia Cruz, Qui Nguyen, Craig Lucas, Michael Hollinger, and others.


For more information visit: www.oneminuteplays.wordpress.com


Playwrights Foundation is dedicated to discovering and supporting local and national American playwrights across a broad spectrum of artistic and career positions, in the inception and development of new plays that speak to and from an increasingly diverse society. Founded on a deeply held belief that the relevance and vitality of American theater depends upon a continual infusion of new work, Playwrights Foundation sustains a commitment to the playwright, who we regard as the creative wellspring of theater.


Founded in 1976 by Robert Woodruff, the Playwrights Foundation is now recognized as one of the top six new play development centers in the country, and the only one of its scope on the West Coast, serving writers at all levels of career placement and artistic maturity. Through our programs we actively nurture and support exceptional contemporary playwrights at every stage of a play’s development and help them forge connections to producers. Our mandate is to offer a full range of programs that provide multiple points of entry for a diverse range of playwrights–at a low cost or free of charge–so they can readily access our services; take advantage of our expertise, resources, and connections across the nation; and learn from their artistic peers.

For three decades we have discovered and supported over 300 writers who have gone on to infuse the American theater with vitality, innovation and relevance. Our award-winning alumni, first discovered early in their careers, include Sam Shepard, Philip Kan Gotanda, Amy Freed, Anne Galjour, Octavio Solis, John O’Keefe, Mac Wellman, Brighde Mullins, Bill Irwin, Migdalia Cruz, Anna Deaveare Smith, Paula Vogel, Maria Irene Fornes, David Henry Hwang, Naomi Iizuka, Brian Thorstenson, Claire Chafee, Prince Gomolvilas, Liz Duffy Adams, Christine Evans, Marcus Gardley, Sheila Callaghan, and Pulitzer Prize winner Nilo Cruz, among many others.


Categories: One-Min Play Info
  1. No comments yet.
  1. November 21, 2011 at 4:49 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: