Home > One-Min Play Info > Announcing the First Boston One-Minute Play Festival

Announcing the First Boston One-Minute Play Festival

Announcing The First Ever Boston One-Minute Play Festival

A partnership between The One-Minute Play Festival and Boston Playwrights’ Theatre

Saturday, January 7th @ 8pm

Sunday, January 8th @8PM

Monday, January 9th @ 8PM

 Boston Playwrights’ Theatre
949 Commonwealth Avenue
Boston, MA 02215

Tickets are $20 and available here:

Featuring 70+ brand new one-minute plays written specifically for this festival by:

Rosanna Yamagiwa Alfaro, Michael Bradford, Barbara Blumenthal-Ehrlich, Elisabeth Burdick, Joe Byers, Lydia Diamond, William Donnelly, Christine Evans, Will Fancher, Stephen Faria,Peter M. Floyd, Patrick Gabridge, Deirdre Girard, Kirsten Greenidge, Michael Hammond, Anna Renee Hansen, Gregory Hischak, Israel Horovitz, Heather Houston, Colleen Hughes, Dan Hunter, Emily Kaye Lazzaro, Christopher Lockheardt, K. Alexa Mavromatis, Matt Mayerchak, Walt McGough, James McLindon,  Mwalim, Natalia Naman, Jack Neary,Ronan Noone, Rick Park, March Schrader, John Shea, Donna Sorbello, Ken Urban, John Zakrosky JR. 

Directed by:

Steven Bogart, Ben Evett, Megan Gleeson, Jason Jones King, M. Bevin O’Gara and others.

Curated by OMPF’s Dominic D’Andrea

The One-Minute Play Festival (OMPF) is an NYC-based theatre company, founded by director/dramaturg Dominic D’Andrea, working in partnership with institutional theatres and collectives across the country who share playwright or community-specific missions. OMPF creates local playwright-focused community events, using a specific playmaking process, with the goal of promoting the spirit of radical inclusion by representing the culture of playwrights of different age, gender, race culture, and points of career. OMPF attempts to reflect the theatrical landscape of local artistic communities by creating a dialogue between the collective conscious and the individual voice.

In addition to Boston this season, the One-Minute Play Festival will be partnering with theatres in New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, New Brunswick, South Florida, Chicago, Baltimore/Washington DC, and others with organizations like Primary Stages, Cornerstone Theater Company, The Playwrights Foundation, Victory Gardens, Actors Express, and other vital national theatre companies.

Notable OMPF Alumni include: David Henry Hwang, Neil LaBute, Tina Howe, Rajiv Joseph, Kristoffer Diaz, Lisa Loomer, Donald Margulies, Jason Grote, Mike Daisey, Lydia Diamond, Erik Ehn, Michael John Garces, Rachel Axler, Elizabeth Meriwether, Migdalia Cruz, Qui Nguyen, Craig Lucas, and Michael Hollinger.

For more information visit: www.oneminuteplays.wordpress.com

Boston Playwrights’ Theatre

Founded in 1981 at Boston University by Nobel Laureate Derek Walcott, Boston Playwrights’ Theatre is an award-winning professional theatre dedicated to new works. At the core of our five programs is the Playwriting MFA offered as part of Boston University’s prestigious Creative Writing Program. Our award-winning alumni have been produced in Regional and New York houses as well as in London’s West End, and our alumni productions have garnered many regional and Boston awards, including regular IRNE and Elliot Norton Awards for “Best New Script.”

For more information visit: www.bostonplaywrights.org

Categories: One-Min Play Info
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: