Home > Playwright Posts > Big worlds in small bursts.

Big worlds in small bursts.

Ken Urban

 

 

I have written three past one-minute play festivals at the behest of Dominic for the OMPF in New York and I have enjoyed writing each one. Brevity – not just run time but also in terms of the turnaround between idea, writing and production – reminds me of what I love about theatre: immediacy, rawness, sex & mortality, so on and so forth. They aren’t skits, but rather playlets (“a short dramatic work,” sayeth the O.E.D.). Big worlds in small bursts. I feel like my pieces have been rather political. That was not by design. But perhaps, there is something about brevity that helps me engage the world, but makes sure it doesn’t overstay its welcome. Not enough time to become a S.I.P. (Self Important Play). “Keep cool, but care,” wrote Thomas Pynchon. You can do that in a minute. I am glad that Boston is getting a chance to have its own OMPF. Maybe it will warm its New England heart during the long winter to come.

 

-Ken Urban

 

The First Boston One-Minute Play Festival will take place Jan 7-9, 2012 in partnership with Boston Playwrights’ Theatre. 70 new plays by 35+ Boston and New England Playwrights. For tickets and info, click here

Categories: Playwright Posts
  1. donna Sorbello
    December 25, 2011 at 7:31 pm

    I often find that I start a sentence, usually at a pretty good clip, and then move on to the next sentence before I’ve finished verbalizing the first. Of course the first was finished in my head almost as soon as it started to come out of my mouth and I’m well into the second sentence and and third thought by the time that first sentence would actually land somewhere. Though we all strive to be “in the moment”, it’s kind of like being really immersed in three moments, all at the same time. All to say…..a minute play…hmm…maybe sounds about right for me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

