Home > Playwright Posts > My Roots Are Showing

My Roots Are Showing

 

David Caudle

 

So I just booked a trip to my hometown for the South Florida One-Minute Play Festival at the gorgeous Deering Estate.

 

It’s part of a national festival series run by Dominic D’Andrea.  The New York event was at Primary Stages, which has been my artistic home for several years, and was by all accounts a huge success.  I can’t wait for Dominic and Primary’ Stages’ Tessa LaNeve to see what a thriving community of amazing theatre artists South Florida has.  Right after the OMPF, I’ll go to New Orleans, where my play Visiting Hours is premiering with a hot new company called the Rising Shiners.  The play is about a lesbian couple whose troubled adult son is arrested for assault.   Set in Miami, the play was also developed there, in Rem Cabrera’s Downstage Miami program. Under the tutelage of Arthur Kopit, under the banyans of Coconut Grove, Ricky J. Martinez, Lauren Feldman and I each sweated to hone our South Floridian voices.

 

Another of my hometown, home-grown plays, The Sunken Living Room, premiered at Miami’s New Theatre and Southern Rep in New Orleans, and has gone on to awards, publication by Samuel French, with monologues in anthologies, etc.  Needless to say I’m really proud that my roots are showing in my work.  No matter where I live now or in the future, I learned to swim at Venetian Pools, cracked open coconuts that fell in my yard, biked up the bumpy path on Old Cutler Road, and pined for Shorty’s Barbecue to rebuild after the fire.  I’ve even got the Melanoma scar from years of tow-headed sunburns at Crandon Park beach.

 

The South Florida One-Minute Play Festival’s proceeds will go to supporting efforts by the Deering Estate and the Theatre League of South Florida to workshop and develop new plays by local writers.   It’s a rich, diverse community with a specific and fascinating history.  Miami may have only three to five feet of soil above sea level, but there’s no telling what treasures can grow out of it.

 

-David Caudle 

 

The First South Florida One-Minute Play Festival will be held Sunday Feb 26th at 4:30PM and 8:30 PM at The Deering Estate. Tickets are $25 and proceeds will benefit SFTL’s playwright workshop programming.  For tickets and info click here. 

Categories: Playwright Posts
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

